Retiring faculty recognized at annual reception

Monday, April 27, 2015

University leaders, along with the family and friends of retiring faculty, recently gathered for an annual reception to honor 14 faculty members whose combined service to the University totaled more than 340 years of service.

Chancellor Philip L. Dubois, who hosted the event at the Harris Alumni Center, noted that the retiring faculty members were among those who helped UNC Charlotte become the state’s urban research university; he encouraged them to continue to remain involved in the institution they helped build.

Each retiree received a Jefferson Cup engraved with his/her name and years of service presented by Provost Joan Lorden.

This year’s retiring faculty members who attended the recognition ceremony were:

  • John Bender, professor of geography and earth sciences, 33 years of service
  • William Brandon, Metrolina Medical Foundation Distinguished Professor of Public Policy and professor of political science and public administration, 21 years of service
  • Olin Broadway, executive-in-residence in the College of Computing and Informatics, 14 years of service
  • Charles Brody, associate dean for academic affairs and professor of sociology, 14 years of service
  • Lienne Edwards, associate director of the School of Nursing and professor of nursing, 33 years of service
  • Paul Friday, professor of criminal justice and criminology, 23 years of service
  • Susan Marchetti, lecturer of social work, 8 years of service
  • Joseph Marinello, lecturer of criminal justice and criminology, 8 years of service
  • Terri Matthews, lecturer of social work, 10 years of service
  • T. Lawrence Mellichamp, director of the botanical gardens and professor of biology, 39 years of service
  • Susan Peters, associate professor of biological sciences, 36 years of service
  • Dena Shenk, graduate coordinator of the gerontology program and professor of anthropology, 24 years of service
  • William Siegfried, director of uptown center and associate professor of psychology, 39 years of service
  • William Scott Terry, professor of psychology, 39 years of service

Some faculty members may not have declared their intent to retire, so the above is not an exhaustive list for the current academic year.

Click here for more images of the retiring faculty reception.