CHHS announces leadership transitions

CHHS leaders
Wednesday, July 1, 2020

With the approaching retirement of Jane Neese, senior associate dean of academic affairs, Dean Catrine Tudor-Locke has announced a series of transitions in leadership at the UNC Charlotte College of Health and Human Services.

Neese has provided Tudor-Locke with formal notice of her intent to retire Sept. 1, 2021.

“Jane’s gracious early notice has provided me with a unique opportunity to consider a leadership continuity plan that purposely builds up our internal capacity during a period of uncertainty. The depth and breadth of Jane’s considerable contributions necessitate careful succession planning to continue forward momentum in the college,” Tudor-Locke said.

Melinda Forthofer, current chair of the UNC Charlotte Department of Public Health Sciences, will be appointed to a two-year term as interim associate dean of Academic Affairs beginning July 1, 2021. Her future appointment as associate dean of Academic Affairs for CHHS will be contingent on a successful comprehensive review at the end of the two-year appointment.

In preparation for her new role and to give the Department of Public Health Sciences stable leadership for the entire 2020-21 academic year, Forthofer stepped down as chair of the Department of Public Health Sciences at the end of June 2020.

In Forthofer’s stead, Tudor-Locke is appointing Jan Warren-Findlow as interim chair of the Department of Public Health Sciences beginning July 1, 2020, whose future reappointment as chair will be contingent upon a successful two-year comprehensive review.

“In the year ahead, Jane will continue to play an important role in the evolution of CHHS as she works to transfer her vast knowledge and administrative adroitness to this new generation of college leaders,” Tudor-Locke said.