49 employees nominated for Staff Employee of the Year

Monday, March 28, 2022

The Human Resources Department received 40 nominations for the 2022 UNC Charlotte Staff Employee of the Year Award, a record number nominated in the categories of devotion to duty, human relations, innovation and community/public service. For this year, a total of 49 staff members were nominated either individually or as members of teams. 

All nominees and their supervisors will be invited to attend the Staff Employee of the Year Sweet Success Reception from 2 to 4 p.m., Tuesday, April 26,

Staff Employee of the Year winners will be announced in the coming weeks. 

Devotion to Duty

  • Angela Allen, Enterprise Risk Management, Office of the Chancellor
  • Anne Brown, Financial Services, Business Affairs
  • Mike Carr, Office of OneIT - Client Engagement, Academic Affairs 
  • Joey Crocker, Facilities Management, Business Affairs
  • Ann Duplessis, The Dubois Center at UNC Charlotte Center City, Academic Affairs
  • Darin Hall, Facilities Management, Business Affairs
  • Carol Hartley, Languages and Culture Studies, Academic Affairs
  • John Hurley, Facilities Management, Business Affairs
  • Patrick Jones, Geography & Earth Sciences, Academic Affairs
  • Paula Lail, Facilities Management, Business Affairs
  • Doug Lape, Parking and Transportation Services, Business Affairs
  • Dave Maharana, Facilities Management, Business Affairs
  • Mark Neel, Facilities Management, Business Affairs
  • Brent Offenberger, Facilities Management, Business Affairs
  • Todd Payne, School of Architecture, Academic Affairs
  • Michael Peddycord, Enterprise Applications, Academic Affairs
  • Sonia Perez, Facilities Management, Business Affairs 
  • Deon Ritchie, Belk College of Business, Academic Affairs
  • Gina Robinson, Office of Student Development and Success, Academic Affairs
  • Katie Russo, Dean of Students Office, Student Affairs
  • Allison Sigmon, Marketing Department, Student Affairs
  • Carrie Smith, University Budget Office, Business Affairs
  • George David Smith, Facilities Management, Business Affairs
  • Greg Verret, Treasury Services, Business Affairs
  • Jon Watkins, Geography & Earth Sciences, Academic Affairs
  • Mary Welsh, College of Arts + Architecture, Academic Affairs
  • Melanie E. G. Witherspoon, Facilities Management, Business Affairs
  • Emerging Media Communications Team, Academic Affairs 
    • Madelayne Meza-Leon
    • Marcus Pena
    • Natasha Stracener
    • Sean Stallings
    • Lorenzo Walton

Human Relations

  • Sarah Ekis, Human Resources, Business Affairs
  • Katherine Humphries, Facilities Management, Business Affairs 
  • Kimberly Laney, Niner Central, Academic Affairs
  • Erica Tadlock, The William States Lee College of Engineering, Academic Affairs


  • Kiran Budhrani, Center for Teaching and Learning
  • Raymond Bart Davis, Facilities Management, Business Affairs
  • Denise Lynch, Honors College, Academic Affairs
  • Kimberly Rodgers, University Center for Academic Excellence, Academic Affairs
  • T.J. Woods, Facilities Management, Business Affairs
  • Honors College Team
    • Gretchen Bagley, Honors College, Academic Affairs
    • Shannon Zurell-Carey, Honors College, Academic Affairs
  • University Advancement Team
    • Josh Englund, Alumni Affairs, University Advancement
    • Anna Helms, Constituent Relations, University Advancement
    • Laura Sharpe, Development, University Advancement
    • Karla Stanchina, University Communications, University Advancement
    • Stacie Young, Donor Relations, University Advancement

Community and Public Service

Courtney Hunt, The Dubois Center at UNC Charlotte Center City, Academic Affairs