Diane Zablotsky to step down as faculty director of the Levine Scholars Program

Diane Zablotsky to step down as faculty director of the Levine Scholars Program
Monday, September 19, 2022

Diane Zablotsky, faculty director of the Levine Scholars Program since 2010, has announced her intention to step down as faculty director at the end of the academic year. Zablotsky will return as a faculty member to the Department of Sociology. 

Zablotsky has overseen the development of the scholarship program’s curriculum and co-curricular activities; created four study abroad experiences for scholars; developed the academic policies; and created the framework for summer experiences, civic engagement opportunities and internship experiences. The Levine Scholars Program is UNC Charlotte’s largest and first comprehensive merit scholarship program open to students from all disciplines. It continues to serve as a model for other programs at the University.

“I thank Diane for her exceptional dedication and leadership of the Levine Scholars Program,” said Joan Lorden, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs. “She has created a unique, nationally recognized program that realizes the vision of Leon and Sandra Levine to build a merit scholarship program that reflects their civic values and prepares leaders with a commitment to their communities.”

Established in 2009 through a gift from The Leon Levine Foundation, the Levine Scholars Program offers standout high school students committed to academic achievement, leadership and community service a four-year scholarship to UNC Charlotte. The scholarship covers tuition, housing, meals, books and mandatory fees. Beyond the financial award, Levine Scholars benefit from study abroad opportunities, professional networking, personalized mentorship, priority course registration and professional development resources. A unique feature of the program is the community service grant that each scholar receives to create a positive impact in the Charlotte community.

The Levine Scholars Program has seen the members of its diverse graduating classes go on to explore and achieve at high levels. The program has more than 140 alumni, some of whom have received U.S. Fulbright grants to study in Ecuador, India, Nepal and Sweden. Others have received a variety of prestigious postgraduate awards to attend institutions such as Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University, Stanford University, University of Pennsylvania, Dartmouth and Oxford University. In addition to working with Teach for America, Americorp, the Peace Corps, and starting their own businesses, Levine Scholars are emerging leaders in medicine, law, business, architecture and urban planning, teaching, engineering and myriad other helping professions. Levine alumni continue to support UNC Charlotte, and current scholars while engaging in volunteerism and civic engagement in their communities.

During her 30 years at UNC Charlotte, Zablotsky has served as the undergraduate coordinator and interim chair of the Department of Sociology and as associate dean of student support in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences. Over the past several years, she has presented or co-presented multiple papers and presentations on student leadership, international programming and developing curriculum addressing institutional racism.