HR announces 2024 Staff Employee of The Year recipients

Employee of the Year Award graphic
Friday, March 22, 2024

Five individuals are this year’s Staff Employee of the Year as announced by the Human Resources Office Staff Awards and Recognition Program.  

Barbara Seyter, deputy director of undergraduate admissions, is the 2024 Employee of the Year in the category Devotion to Duty. In the Human Relations category, Patrick Madsen, associate dean for advising and experiential learning, is the recipient. Ashton Atmore, simulation technician in the School of Nursing, is the Employee of the Year in the category of Innovation, and Mikala Harvey, program director, leadership and community engagement, is the recipient in the category of Community and Public Service. Cpl. James Rusher, Police and Public Safety Department, was named Staff Employee of the Year in the Safety and Heroism category.

The 2024 Staff Employees of the Year were chosen from among 22 eligible nominations.

Nominees: Devotion to Duty

Carolyn Aguiar, Research
Bobbi M. Butler, Academic Affairs
Alex Frizzell, Academic Affairs
Vanessa Grimaldi, Academic Affairs
Penny Hawkins, University Advancement
Jeff Saylor, Business Affairs
Dana Tweed, Academic Affairs
Sara Watson, Academic Affairs
Karyn Williamson-Coria, Academic Affairs
University Budget Office Team, Business Affairs
Kara Barnett, Jessica Barton, Elizabeth Moll, Angela Smith, Carrie Smith

Nominees: Innovation

Michelle Prasad, Academic Affairs
Michael Rogers, Business Affairs

Nominees: Human Relations

Stephanie G. Collins, Academic Affairs
Sophia Jordan-Marshall, Student Affairs
Kristy Lowman, Academic Affairs
Cali Wickert, Academic Affairs
Niner Nation Week: Homecoming Committee Team (University Advancement: Jessica Dunlow, Josh Englund, Sarah Fore, Lauren Gregg, Ryan Honeyman, Natalie Huie, Alyssa Kasko, Allie Kuenzi, Jenny Matz, Sarah Richardson, Laura Sharpe, Stacie Young; Student Affairs: Adam Burden and Lisa Gaskin)

All nominees and their supervisors will be invited to attend the Staff Employee of the Year Sweet Success Reception from 2 to 4 p.m., Wednesday, April 10. Award recipients will be honored at the event and featured in Niner Insider in the coming weeks.