Elite Eight

Talk about making a school feel proud. At the annual UNC Charlotte Alumni Association Awards ceremony, eight individuals were honored recently for contributions to their alma mater and the community. 

It also was the first occasion at which the Bonnie E. Cone Lifetime Achievement Award was presented. The highest honor the Alumni Association bestows, it recognizes those who demonstrate exceptional commitment by giving generously of their time, energy and leadership. Trustee Dhiaa Jamil (’78) was the inaugural recipient.

But that’s just the beginning. Here’s the complete lineup:

Dhiaa Jamil video thumbnail

Dhiaa M. Jamil, '78
Bonnie E. Cone Lifetime Achievement Award

Susan DeVore video thumbnail

Susan R. DeVore, '81
Distinguished Alumna Award

Richard Hudson video thumbnail

Richard L. Hudson, '96
Distinguished Alumnus Award

Donnie Koonce video thumbnail

Donnie R. Koonce, '81
Distinguished Alumnus Award

Robyn Massey video thumbnail

Robyn S. Massey, '81
Distinguished Alumna Award

Brett Tempest video thumbnail

Brett Q. Tempest, Ph.D., '04, '07, '10
Outstanding Young Alumnus Award

Melba Spooner video thumbnail

Melba C. Spooner, Ed.D., '79, '85
Distinguished Faculty Award

Chuck Lynch video thumbnail

Charles "Chuck" F. Lynch
Honorary Alumnus Award