Woman of the Year

UNC Charlotte Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Joan Lorden is the recipient of the 2016 Charlotte Woman of the Year Award for Civic Leadership and Service. Bestowed by the Charlotte Woman of the Year Committee, the honor is presented for exceptional service and exemplary leadership. Originated in 1955 by WBT Radio, the Woman of the Year award is the oldest and most prestigious honor given to a female civic leader in Charlotte.


"I can think of no other individual who has left such an indelible mark on our community,” said UNC Charlotte Chancellor Philip L. Dubois in nominating Lorden. “With seeming ease, Joan has assured that important community needs have been addressed with the resources and talents available at the University."

Charlotte Woman of the Year logoLorden, who joined UNC Charlotte in 2003, is currently the UNC system’s longest-serving provost and provides leadership for seven colleges, the graduate school and multiple research institutes.

As the University’s chief academic officer, Lorden has spearheaded a renewed commitment to deepening the scope of civic engagement across campus. The result has been the implementation of an innovative, action-oriented and civic-engagement approach to curriculum that has affected thousands of students, faculty and community partners.

 “Every time I’m in a room with Joan, I view it as a gift,” said Foundation For The Carolinas Executive Vice President Brian Collier. “Her unique leadership style and wisdom have directly or indirectly shaped some of the most important initiatives in our community. Joan is never the loudest voice in the room, but she’s often the most thought-provoking and impactful.”

Lorden, who will receive the 2016 Woman of the Year Award formally during an awards presentation on Monday, March 27, at the Duke Mansion, continues the pioneering paths blazed by other University leaders. Founder Bonnie Cone was the 1956 Woman of the Year Award recipient, and Judy Rose, the University’s first female athletic director, was honored in 1996.