General Assembly appoints two business leaders to Board of Trustees

The North Carolina General Assembly has appointed John A. Bailey ’94 and Lawrence (Larry) Shaheen Jr. to UNC Charlotte’s Board of Trustees.

Bailey, a Gaston County business leader, has been reappointed by N.C. House of Representatives Speaker Tim Moore. Shaheen, an attorney from Charlotte, has been appointed by N.C. Senate President Phil Berger. Both will serve four-year terms.

The two join four others who were elected in May to the Board of Trustees by the UNC Board of Governors. Geoff Gray, Hugh McColl Jr. and Michael Smith were appointed, and current trustee Christine Katziff was reappointed. All began terms on July 1.

John A. Bailey ‘94

john baileyBailey is the owner of Sammy’s Neighborhood Pub, an iconic mainstay in downtown Belmont, and Homes by John Bailey, a remodeling and general contracting company based in Mount Holly.

Bailey, who was first appointed to the board in July 2022, has significant experience in management and commercial and residential real estate. Previously, he served as vice president of William Trotter Company, a home building company in Charlotte. His career also includes experience in automotive dealership management.

“I’m thrilled to continue to serve the UNC Charlotte community and give back to my alma mater,” Bailey said. “I have enjoyed my service as a trustee and have learned more about our entire University community by attending cultural and sporting events, speaking to classes, meeting with faculty and student groups and participating in ROTC events.”

He has served on several boards, including the Gaston County Economic Development Commission and the Gaston County Planning Board, where he served as chair. He also was appointed by Governor Pat McCrory to the North Carolina Workforce Development Board.

He served for 10 years as a member of the North Carolina Air National Guard.

He holds an associate degree from Gaston College and a bachelor’s degree in engineering technology and construction management from UNC Charlotte. His son is entering UNC Charlotte as a freshman this fall.

Active in the life of the University, Bailey frequently opens his business to alumni events and supports the Charlotte 49ers on and off the field.

Larry Shaheen Jr.

larry shaheenShaheen is an attorney with the McIntosh Law Firm in Davidson, North Carolina, focusing on commercial business, real estate, taxation, and government affairs.

A practicing attorney since 2013, he has experience advising all manner and complexity of businesses from Fortune 50 firms to local start-ups. Shaheen also serves as outside general counsel to several businesses and business associations, focusing on growth and development strategies along with regulatory compliance. Prior to working in his law practice, he served as an attorney and advisor to elected officials and businesses in the Southeast on their strategy for governmental affairs, election compliance and legal issues.

“UNC Charlotte is our community’s homegrown crown jewel,” Shaheen said. “I am looking forward to rolling up my sleeves and getting to work helping advance and support the great work being done at Charlotte’s public university.”

An alumnus of Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, Shaheen earned a bachelor’s degree in political science from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a law degree from the University of South Carolina School of Law.

Active in the local community, Shaheen serves on the boards for NAIOP Charlotte (Commercial Real Estate Development Association), the Real Estate and Building Industry Coalition, the Mecklenburg County Bar Foundation, the Greater Charlotte Hospitality and Tourism Alliance, and the Good Fellows Club. He is also a member of the Charlotte Region Commercial Board of Realtors and the Urban Land Institute Charlotte Chapter. He has been listed the last four years in Business North Carolina’s Commercial Real Estate “Legal Elite.”

The UNC Charlotte Board of Trustees has 13 members; eight are elected by the UNC Board of Governors, and four are appointed by the General Assembly. Additionally, the University’s Student Government Association president serves a one-year term.